∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ 

COWs concert series consists of three concerts that will take
place in Mengi in Spring 2018.The concerts include experimental music by composers such as Jennifer Walshe, Morton Feldman, Carolyn Chen amongst others. The third and the last concert in this season’s series puts works by Carolyn Chen in the foreground, but also includes works by Einar Torfi Einarsson and Birgit Djupedal.
The music takes place in-between music, theater and performance art and is performed by faculty and students at the Iceland University of the Arts.

Performers on April 27th:
Birgit Djupedal, Berglind María Tómasdóttir, Carolyn Chen, Einar
Torfi Einarsson, Örvar Erling Árnason, María Sól Ingólfsdóttir,
Valentin Valle Domring, Sigurður Einarsson and more.



  • Declaration
  • In 1839 it was considered elegant to take a tortoise out walking.
  • Stomach of ravens
  • This is a Scream — an audio essay
  • Fine Feathered Friends


  • Urban/Nonurban distancing


  • #EqualPayDay in three movements

Curator of COWs Concert Series is Berglind Tómasdóttir.
COWs Concert Series is supported by the Icelandic Music Fund and is in collaboration with the Iceland University of the Arts.
Doors at 8:30pm - Tickets 2.000 kr.

About Carolyn Chen:

Carolyn Chen has made music for supermarket, demolition district, and the dark. Her work reconfigures the everyday to retune habits of our ears through sound, text, light, image, and movement. For a decade she has studied the guqin, the Chinese 7-string zither traditionally played for private meditation in nature, which has inspired her thinking on listening and social space. Recent projects include a a story for ASL interpreter strung to chimes at a distance and commissions for Wild Rumpus and Klangforum Wien. The work has been presented in 22 countries and described by The New York Times as “the evening’s most consistently alluring … a quiet but lush meditation.” It has been supported and commissioned by impuls, MATA, Fulbright Foundation, Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans, Stanford University Sudler Prize, University of California Institute for Research in the Arts, American Composers Forum, ASCAP, Emory Planetarium, Composers Conference at Wellesley, and Machine Project at the Hammer Museum. Recordings are available on Perishable, the wulf., Quakebasket, and Play It Forward. She earned a PhD in music from UC San Diego, and an MA in Modern Thought and Literature and BA in music from Stanford University, with an honors thesis on free improvisation and radical politics.